CPT Coding

CPT Coding

Each activity and medical service you’re able to receive from a healthcare professional is given a CPT (Current Procedural Terminology) code, which is a number. A code might be associated with a medical test or a normal checkup, for instance.

Medical, surgical procedures and clinical diagnostics are tracked and charged using CPT codes. CPT codes are used by insurers to calculate the provider payments they should make.

To provide consistency in the processing of transactions and to detect mistakes, all payers as well as providers make use of identical CPT codes.

Speak to our Experts on

+1 888-502-0537

End-to-End Medical Billing Services provider across entire US.

What Are Cpt Codes?

CPT codes usually include five numeric digits. Certain CPT codes, however, only have one letter and 4 numbers. There are no decimal digits in CPT codes.

Certain CPT codes are sporadically utilized, while others are hardly ever used. Various CPT codes are regularly used. Examples of routine office visit codes are 99213 and 99214, which are typically used to treat one or maybe more new queries or complaints or to check up solely on a single or more issue from a prior visit.

The CPT codes which are currently used all over the globe are created, maintained, and protected by copyright by the American Medical Association.

As healthcare evolves, these codes may also change, and new system codes may be created and allocated to services.

Categories Of Cpt Codes
By category, CPT codes include five numbers which can either be numerical or alphanumeric. For a varied user base to have a shared understanding throughout the clinical universal healthcare continuum, CPT coding adjectives are clinically oriented and make use of common rules.

The following are the various categories of CPT codes:

Category I

The healthcare procedures that are components of the United States conventional medical practice are given the CPT codes in this category. This category includes codes in the range 00100-99499.

Anesthesiology unit (00100-01999 and 99100-99140), internal medicine’s code (90281-99199 and 99500-99607), pathology and laboratory section (80047-89398), radiography unit (70010-79999), surgery section (10021-69990), and assessment and administration are the six areas that make up this list of codes (99201-99499).

Category II

These CPT codes are known as surveillance codes because they are utilized to gather data to evaluate the efficacy and effectiveness of medical services. These codes are voluntary, in contrast to Category-I CPT codes. Also, because of their alphanumeric nature, these codes in this category cannot take the place of Category-I codes.

Category III

Emerging technologies, practices, and medical services that are not included in Category-I are given temporary alphanumeric numbers in this category. These CPT codes are employed for gathering and evaluating data, paying for novel methods, and to provide services not covered by Category-I codes.

PLA codes

The American Medical Association refers to this recently created CPT coding class as the proprietary clinical laboratory analyses. Advanced Diagnostic Laboratory Tests and Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory examinations are two examples of this category; however, they are not the only ones.

What Is the Importance Of Cpt Codes To Your Health Facility?

  • CPT coding help with the following
  • Analysis of a patient health care cost
  • Claim processing
  • Research
  • Verification of bills.

Why Choose Us At 24/7 Medical Billing Services?

By choosing our medical coding services, you stand to benefit from the following:

  • We assist in maximizing the collection of taxes and revenues and significantly increasing revenue.
  • We are a group of trained coders with extensive expertise and proficiency in applying codes.
  • We guarantee flawless coding.
  • We make sure to send the provider frequent updates.